Zeta Belgian

March 28, 2008

I’m going to try my hand at a Belgian Strong Dark ale next. I’ve never tried to brew a Belgian and am kind of anxious. Brewing so many hoppy beers I’ve gotten a good feel for how they’ll come out and the different properties they’ll impart. I haven’t gotten such a feel for malt yet. I guess this is sink or swim here. I’ll boil for 120 min, make a large starter of belgian yeast (never done this either), and ferment in glass for 2 wks. Oh, and besides all the corn sugar it’ll be my first all-grain as well. I found that my mash tun can easily handle about 10 lbs of grain. Here’s the recipe:

Zeta Belgian

Zeta Belgian
Recipe Zeta Belgian Style Belgian Dark Strong Ale
Brewer Chemical Craig Batch 5.00 gal
All Grain

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.088 OG Estimated FG 1.022 FG
Recipe Bitterness 24 IBU Alcohol by Volume 8.5%
Recipe Color 18° SRM Alcohol by Weight 6.7%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
5.00 lb Belgian two-row Other Mashed
5.00 lb American two-row Other Mashed
2.00 lb Cane sugar Other Extract
1.00 lb Belgian Special "B" Other Mashed
1.00 lb Belgian candi sugar Other Extract
Quantity Hop Type Time
1.00 oz Santiam whole 60 minutes
1.00 oz Crystal whole 5 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit Belgian Ale yeast Other 1 vial with starter

Recipe Notes

Mash at 62C for 90 min.

Leave a Reply

