Current Setup

April 8, 2008

So here’s my current setup.

It can handle all grain brews maxing out at ~11-12 lbs of grain, which is fine for me. If I want to brew anything higher, I’ll just add a little bit of DME. I can handle just about anything under 1.070. The cooler didn’t have a spigot in it so I just drilled a 1/2″ hole near the bottom and made one myself. It’s the standard 3/8″ ball valve on one side and stainless hose braid on the inside. People complain that the stainless hose can float up into the mash and flop around, so they’ll turn to some other method. Well they don’t know much about fluid dynamics. The only crucial part of the straining mechanism is the part over the outlet. It doesn’t matter if the thing is flopping all over the place, as long as it strains near the outlet it’s perfectly fine. And mine does. It drips once every 10 seconds or so, which over an hour builds up to about a 10 ml. or so of wort. The insulation in this thing is incredibly stable, I’m amazed. It doesn’t drop more than 1/2 degree over an hour.

The boiling kettle is 30 qts. and was a christmas gift from my brother over at Pinelands Brewing Company that got me started. As you can see there was a bit of a boilover. It’s just that there was still a lot of sugar still being sparged and I wanted to get it all.

Here’s the mash tun with the spent grain.

Don’t let anyone tell you that you need a 10 gallon cooler to do all grain. This thing is 6 gallons and just brewed a high gravity Belgian just fine. When the wort was in the cooler the liquid level came up to just below the big line.

Leave a Reply

