New Year, New Name, New Brew

February 18, 2009

The Whiteaker Arms brewery is no more. I’ve officially changed names to Rigid Rotor Brewing partly because I don’t plan on being in this neighborhood for much longer and partly because I wanted a name that reflects the scientist in me. To celebrate the new identity I formulated a new IPA and brewed it on sunday. I’m calling it Normalizer IPA. I haven’t brewed in about a year and was definitely rusty. My efficiency was horrible at around 60%, but I think it’s because I used a grain bag (why?) in the mash tun and the mash was too thick. Now I know for next time. It’s fermenting nicely now. QBrew predicts about 5.3% ABV, which is pretty weak for an IPA, but we’ll see how it turns out. Maybe it’s more of a really bitter pale ale. I think I’ll try the recipe again next week and see if I can’t get the efficiency up a bit. Here’s the recipe:

Normalizer IPA
Recipe Normalizer IPA Style American IPA
Brewer Chemical Craig/Rigid Rotor Batch 5.00 gal

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.055 OG Estimated FG 1.014 FG
Recipe Bitterness 57 IBU Alcohol by Volume 5.3%
Recipe Color 10° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.2%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
10.00 lb American two-row Other Mashed
1.00 lb Crystal 10L Other Mashed
0.50 lb Crystal 40L Other Mashed
0.50 lb Light D.M.E. Extract Extract
0.50 lb Wheat malt Other Mashed
Quantity Hop Type Time
1.00 oz Amarillo Whole 0 minutes
1.00 oz Glacier Whole 0 minutes
1.00 oz Glacier Whole 20 minutes
1.00 oz Magnum Whole 60 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit American Ale yeast dry Other safale us-05
1.00 unit Brewing Salts Other tsp.
1.00 unit whirfloc Other

Batch Notes
Mash at 65C for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

