Normalizer, take 2:

February 25, 2009

After screwing the pooch last weekend on the Normalizer IPA, I decided to give it another shot. I really want to get a good house IPA recipe going that I can brew reliably. After getting my sea legs back it shouldn’t have been a problem. And it wasn’t. Everything went swimmingly. I hit my mash temp spot on at 65C, and blew all of my previous efficiencies out of the water with 90%. I hadn’t really planned on it being so high, so I had to dilute the wort a bit to bring the OG down to 1.064. I altered the grain bill and hop schedule by a tiny amount. The grain changes were inspired by Jamil’s American IPA recipe which includes a bit of Munich, and the extra 1/4 oz of bittering hops were left over and I thought would be need to stand up to the malt backbone. After 24 hrs. rapid fermentation was achieved. The airlock was bubbling so much it kept me awake last night! Then again I keep the fermenter close to my head so I can smell it in my sleep and dream of sweet fermenting homebrew. I felt the fermenter this morning and it was warm to the touch. The US05 was really going to town, I hope the temporarily high temp doesn’t alter the flavor profile too much. We’ll see.
The last batch of Normalizer never reached such a crazed fermentation, and the airlock only mildly bubbled for a day or two. I’ll probably bottle it this coming weekend.
On deck I’ll take a shot at the Beta ESB, but all grain of course. This beer won 2nd place at the sasquatch brewfest a few years back and it’s coming up again so I’ll see if I can improve it. I think I might formulate and try another IPA and enter them both in the contest this year to see which gets higher marks.
Here’s the recipe from this weekend:

Normalizer IPA
Recipe Normalizer IPA Style American IPA
Brewer Chemical Craig / Rigid Rotor Batch 6.25 gal
All Grain

Recipe Characteristics

Recipe Gravity 1.064 OG Estimated FG 1.016 FG
Recipe Bitterness 62 IBU Alcohol by Volume 6.2%
Recipe Color 10° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.9%

Ingredients

Quantity Grain Type Use
0.75 lb American Munich Grain Mashed
11.00 lb American two-row Other Mashed
0.75 lb Crystal 10L Other Mashed
0.50 lb Crystal 40L Other Mashed
0.50 lb Wheat malt Other Mashed
Quantity Hop Type Time
1.00 oz Amarillo Whole 0 minutes
1.00 oz Glacier Whole 0 minutes
1.00 oz Glacier Whole 20 minutes
1.00 oz Magnum Whole 60 minutes
0.25 oz Magnum Whole 60 minutes
Quantity Misc Notes
1.00 unit American Ale yeast dry Other safale us-05
1.00 unit whirfloc Other

Batch Notes

Poured water night before to drive off Cl.

Leave a Reply

