Fresh Citra and Imperial Brown

October 24, 2009

Just got back from my LHBS. The moment I opened the door I was blasted in the face with that wonderful citrusy, floral aroma that is American hops. That’s right folks, the 2009 harvest is in. Well just about, they’re still waiting on the hop union, but all the cascade, amarillo, chinook, etc… are in and super fresh. I even got to dig my hands into a bale of citra. I could’ve died. I picked up a few ounces of it and plan to brew a special version of the Gamma Ray IPA with it soon. Right now I’m brewing an Imperial Brown ale for my friend’s Christmas beer. I’m calling it Rare Earth. It’s heavy and brown, kind of like the earth. And the rare earth elements have always been my favorite. Those wacky f-series metals.

Leave a Reply

