Triple Beam

November 4, 2009

The Rare Earth is in the secondary. It ended up being more along the lines of a barley wine, though. It came out with 80% AA and 8.9% ABV. The late hop additions lend a very strong piney/resiny hop aroma. It’s moderately strong bittering is a bit stronger than the malt character right now, but it’ll mellow with a little aging.
I finally got around to brewing the Belgian IPA. This too turned out a bit strong, with 92% mash efficiency. I did a batch instead of fly sparge this time and thought my efficiency would go down. On the contrary it went UP a couple of points. I don’t know what the heck is going on. I actually try to decrease my efficiency and end up raising it. Anyway, this had an OG of 1.082 w/ 82 IBU. Maybe I’ll call it ‘The Big 82’ So I think I’ll classify it as an Imperial Belgian IPA. I’m really curious to see how it turns out.
Also brewed a batch of Beta Blocker ESB. Suffered from the same high efficiency noted above and ended up with an OG of 1.064. A few points higher than usual. I used wlp002 w/ a starter, as I read that’s the same as wyeast’s 1968 that I’ve had such great success with. We’ll see how they turn out…

Here’s the label for the Belgian:
triplebeamlabel

Leave a Reply

